Prayer

“Satan trembles when he sees the weakest Christian on his knees.” William Cowper

“Four things let us ever keep in mind: God hears prayer, God heeds prayer, God answers prayer, and God delivers by prayer.”  E. M. Bounds

When was the last time you prayed? When was the last time your poured your heart out to God? A song that we sing in church reminds me that “having a little talk with Jesus” will make everything all right.

My last post “Troubled Heart” received a comment from a blog that I follow. 8 kids and a business commented:

“Valerie, how timely your post is! My heart is troubled by some news I received today and have been worrying all day. After reading your post, I realized that I was keeping it all to myself and not letting go. Ironically, there is a prayer by a Catholic saint, St. Teresa of Avila, that I like to pray when I’m worried. I was so focused on myself that I forgot all about it until you reminded me. God bless. Here’s the prayer:

Let nothing disturb you
Let nothing frighten you
All things are passing
God never changes
Patience obtains all things
Nothing is wanting to those who possess God
God alone suffices

The above prayer by St. Teresa of Avila, is a powerful prayer. Christians should not let anything disturb them,  yet at times they do. Christians should let anything frighten them, yet at times they do. God knows our deepest, most inner thoughts. Why do we hold on to problems, worries, hurt and pain when God already knows about them. Why don’t we turn them over to God who already has the problem worked out? (I am so guilty of this)!

Prayer is powerful!  Praying to God about what we are going through puts Him into action on solving our problems. A friend once told me, “God can not react until we act“. God is waiting on us to come to Him and say, “Father, I can not deal with this any longer. I surrender all to you. I know you will take care of it. Thank you Father that my problem has been solved. In Jesus name, Amen”. It is that simple! We make it so complicated!

So my friends, the next time you are troubled, STOP! DROP! AND PRAY! Turn your cares and burdens over to God. You will feel better. God will begin to work!

For His Glory!

Valerie

Thank you 8 Kids and a Business for your comment and beautiful prayer! God bless you!

About valerielynn

Wife, mother and child of God who has learned to live one day at a time by the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ. My road to home (heaven) is full of many bumps, twist and turns. But with Jesus at the wheel, He makes it a lot smoother.
This entry was posted in Christian Life, God and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Prayer

  1. Valerie, St. Teresa of Avila’s prayer looks beautiful on your blog. I’m glad it inspired you to write another helpful post. You’re welcome and thank you. God bless you.

  2. That is a wonderful prayer, and thank you for the important reminder to turn our problems over to God and trust they will be handled well. Blessings to you, dear Valerie!

    • valerielynn says:

      Connie, all thanks go to God for my friend sending me the prayer. Prayer is truly a powerful weapon we have been given to use. Blessings to you my dear friend!

  3. Love that!! “God can not react until we act.” Oh the power of prayer!! This is our greatest attack against the evil principalites of this world! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

