Troubled Heart

Image

Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me.

(John 14:1) 

Have you ever read the Bible and although you have read a particular verse over and over, it seems to “jump out” at you as if you are reading it for the first time? Well, this happened to me Monday. I read John 14:1 a hundred times, yet this time I could not get past it.”Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, also believe in Me”. The Message Bible reads, “”Don’t let this throw you. You trust God, don’t you? Trust me”.

In my prayer, I asked God, “why is this verse hitting me like a ton of bricks? What is it you want me to know? What is it you want me to do”? I knew in my spirit what God was saying to me. A pastor once told me, “when you open the Bible, God speaks”. God was speaking to me in a major way.

I have been worried about something lately. Something which has weighed heavy on my mind for a long time. Did I give my problem to God and let Him take care of it? No, I clung to it hoping I could solve the problem myself. God spoke to my heart loud and clear, “why are you trying to solve this problem yourself? Why are you worrying yourself over something you can not fix? Why haven’t you gave your problem to me so I can take care of it? Don’t you trust me to solve it for you”?

It was at that moment I knew I had to turn my problem over to God. He does not want us to worry. He did not create us to worry. He created us to live in peace, joy and love. Jesus said, “The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly”. (John 10:10). We can not live in peace, joy and love if we are constantly worrying. God is the only one who can take our problems and solve them. Yet, we try our best to come up with a solution ourselves. It is only after we have worn ourselves out that we turn it over to God, (which is exactly what I did).

My mind was so tired and worn out, I could not think. My body was tired because I could not sleep. Last night, I finally surrendered my problem to God. I told Him I was sorry for trying to solve this problem myself. I turned my problem over to God and let Him deal with it. I laid down and slept so peacefully last night. Oh what a blessing that was!

My friends, if you are troubled or burdened with something you have tried to fix yourself, turn it over to the “Problem Solver”. God already knew about your problem before it happened. He will not help you with it until you let it go to Him and allow Him to fix it for you. Don’t spend you days worrying about something you do not have control over. A favorite song of mine by Kurt Carr says,

That problem that I had
I just couldn’t seem to solve
I tried and I tried
But I kept gettin’ deeper involved
So I turned it over to Jesus
And I stopped worryin’ about it
Turned it over to the Lord
(He worked it out)

My friends, turn your problems over to the Lord. He is able to work them out for you.

Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. (John 14:27) 

For His Glory!

Valerie

Scripture from New King James Version and the Message Bible

About valerielynn

Wife, mother and child of God who has learned to live one day at a time by the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ. My road to home (heaven) is full of many bumps, twist and turns. But with Jesus at the wheel, He makes it a lot smoother.
This entry was posted in Christian Life, God and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Troubled Heart

  1. Hi, Valerie. Thank you for visiting my blog and for this post. I needed this reminder today! Blessings on your ministry. Tammy

  2. Valerie, how timely your post is! My heart is troubled by some news I received today and have been worrying all day. After reading your post, I realized that I was keeping it all to myself and not letting go. Ironically, there is a prayer by a Catholic saint, St. Teresa of Avila, that I like to pray when I’m worried. I was so focused on myself that I forgot all about it until you reminded me. God bless. Here’s the prayer:
    Let nothing disturb you
    Let nothing frighten you
    All things are passing
    God never changes
    Patience obtains all things
    Nothing is wanting to those who possess God
    God alone suffices

    • valerielynn says:

      8 kids! God is truly an “on time God”. I pray you have been helped with your worries. All glory to God! thank you for the prayer. I am going to post it on my blog if you don’t mind.

  3. Lori Laws says:

    Hi Valerie! One of the scriptures that really speaks to me is Isaiah 26:3…. “You will keep in perfect peace all whose thoughts are fixed on You.”

    Over the years I’ve learned how to truly cast my cares on Him, but it gets difficult when I get to a place where I’m “taking” those cares and worries back. Only God can help me with that, but I know He is working out the fruit of patience in me. Thanks for sharing this post with us. I know when we leave our worries with Him, He will surely work things out… but in His time, and that’s when the whole patience thing happens. Blessings!

    • valerielynn says:

      Lori, patience is one thing God is working with me on! I sure am glad He is a patient God to have to deal with me and my issues! lol Love you Lori and thanks!

  4. Shirley Anne says:

    Thank you for your recent visit to Minkyweasel World, the web home of Shirley Anne. I have another site (link on Minkyweasel World) but here too: http://wwwminkyweaselsmusings.blogspot.co.uk/ which is totally dedicated to God if you wish to pay a visit there.
    Shirley Anne x

Leave a Reply

