A Long Road to Healing- Conclusion

I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven; whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be loosed in heaven. (Matthew 16:19)
To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” ( John 8:31,32)
 It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.  (Galatians 5:1)
I knew in my heart I had to forgive myself. I had to realize that my sister made the choice to cut herself off from the world and her family. I had to realize that it was HER choice to be alone. Every night before going to sleep I prayed for her. I would ask God to watch over her. I would ask God to let her know that I loved her. God reminded me of these things. I did help my sister by praying to God to watch over her.
The word of God is a powerful source. Every problem you and I face can be solved through His word and prayer. I began looking up scriptures on forgiveness. I studied and spoke these scriptures over and over and over again until they became a part of me. I could feel the chains of guilt breaking with each passing day. My freedom would not happen over night, but I knew it would happen. God’s word was setting me free “little by little”.
God kept bringing to my mind the moments I spent with her before she got sick. The Bible studies we enjoyed having. The talks we had about how good God is. The time we would sit and listen to gospel music and get so happy we would get up and dance and praise God! “Remember the beautiful times you had with your sister and do not think about the bad”. Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.” (Philippians 4:8) With each memory, I began to smile. I began to laugh. I began to be filled with joy. I began thanking God for the beautiful memories that I will cherish forever.
As my road to healing continues, each day that passes brings me so much joy. It is my heartfelt prayer that if any of my readers are chained by guilt, that the few words I have written will be of encouragement to you. There is hope. There is freedom. Jesus Christ loves you. He does not want you to be burdened by guilt. He wants you to be free and enjoy your life.  I love you and I can now shout,
“I AM FREE! I AM FREE! I AM FREE! PRAISE GOD! I AM FREE”! 
You can shout this too. 

About valerielynn

Wife, mother and child of God who has learned to live one day at a time by the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ. My road to home (heaven) is full of many bumps, twist and turns. But with Jesus at the wheel, He makes it a lot smoother.
This entry was posted in God, Jesus Christ, life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Long Road to Healing- Conclusion

  1. Child of God says:

    Hi Valerie,Awesome testomony!! I will be continuing to pray for you. Jesus loves us just as we are and it is Him that changes us. His love, His forgiveness, His self, comes in and takes over us and we are filled with love and the fruit of the Spirit. Thanks for sharing this journey. It is a tough one and I am so thankful to God that He released you from this guilt that is not yours but Satan's. Blessings,<><

  2. Lori Laws says:

    God is great! He is so wise, He knows what we as individuals need to hear to bring about the freedom we so desperately need. I've too, lately have been going through some stuff that has not been fun… but God is faithful to always bring me back to Him, back with the proper perspective 🙂 I am glad you're back, so glad you were set free. One thing I know for sure and I will bank my life upon… GOD IS FAITHFUL!!! Blessings to you.

  3. It most certainly is a long road to healing with God guiding and holding our hand every step of the way.Valerie, what a powerful post, straight from the heart and life transforming.Thank you for showing us that we must cling on to the promises of God for freedom and victory over our circumstances.Have a blessed and fruitful weekend.Blessings from Carole in the UK <><

  4. I'm shouting Val…..I am free. I am free. Thank God I am free. Hugs to you.

  5. Yvette says:

    The Son has set you free indeed!

  6. Hi Valerie, I came across your blog and love the messages you are sharing. I'm organizing a blog tour for Christian author John Beehner and was wondering if you'd be interested in participating. Please peruse his website at http://askwisecounsel.blogspot.com/ and let me know. Hope to hear from you soon, thanks and God bless!

  7. nice post! thanks for sharing… blessings…soraya

  8. Rhonda says:

    Freedom is always found in the Words of our Lord…healing can be instant by one touch of the Master's hand and then it can be a growth process…Trusting Him always to be the "divine decider" of my life over all the moments of pain and suffering! I with you sister, I'm free yes free indeed!

Leave a Reply

