Long Road to Healing Pt 3

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

1 John 1:9 (NLT)

I knew the voice that whispered in my ear. I knew the peaceful, calm and loving voice. I knew it was Jesus Christ telling me to stretch my hand out to Him and allow Him to heal me. I knew He was reaching out to help and save me. It was up to me whether I wanted Him to or not.

My thoughts were telling me, “no, He won’t help you. You have done something horrible. He won’t forgive you”. My heart was saying, “reach out and grab the hand of Jesus. He will forgive you. He will set you free”. Everything in my body wanted Jesus to free me from the torment. I fell out on the floor and began crying so hard my body was shaking. I could hardly catch my breath. I don’t know how I got these words out, but I did, “HELP ME”!!!!!!

I closed my eyes and I prayed, “Father, please forgive me. Forgive me for allowing my sister to die alone. Forgive me for not looking after her. Not helping her. Forgive me for turning my back on you. I am sorry. I am sorry. I am sorry”.

I laid on the floor for what seemed light an eternity. I looked up and saw Joyce Meyer on the television. I got up, got the remote and turned up the volume. When I did, she said these words, “you do not have to live with guilt. You do not have to live with anger. There is freedom in Jesus Christ. She read 1 John 1:9. She read John 8:36, So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed. She began to pray for those who were bound by guilt. I closed my eyes and prayed with her. “Free me Lord Jesus. Free me” 


I heard a voice say, “forgive yourself”. What? Forgive myself? “YES, FORGIVE YOURSELF”. A scripture came to my thoughts,For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you”. Matthew 6:14.  I knew I had to forgive others, but I never thought about forgiving myself. Lord, help me to forgive myself………..







About valerielynn

Wife, mother and child of God who has learned to live one day at a time by the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ. My road to home (heaven) is full of many bumps, twist and turns. But with Jesus at the wheel, He makes it a lot smoother.
This entry was posted in God, Jesus Christ, life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Long Road to Healing Pt 3

  1. Child of God says:

    Hi Valerie,I just love how God comes and and gives us a word just at the right moment. I find it cool that He used Joyce Meyers words to minister to you. I just love how He speaks through people. How do you grasp the infinite with a finite mind? God's greatness exceeds our wildest dreams. ~HeartlightBlessings,<><

  2. Yvette says:

    Valerie, as always your post are so encouraging and uplifting. I am blessed by your writing, and how through your pain and growth you bless others. May the Lord lift you up high on His wings, and yes my dear, through Christ there is no guilt.Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

