Are You Listening?

                 Direct your children onto the right path and when they are older, they will not leave it.
                 Proverbs 22:6 NLT
If you are like me, I often wonder if my children really listen and hear what I am saying to them. Have you ever noticed when you are talking to your children, they begin by looking at you, but their eyes begin to look at something else or they begin to squirm around? You begin to wonder if the child is listening and hearing what you are saying or if they are “pretending” to listen and hear. As a mother of four, one adult, one teenager, one “tween” and one youth,  I often wonder if they are really hearing and listening or pretending.
The Bible says we are to guide our children in the right way to go, so when they are grown they will remember what we have taught them. Our family has Bible study every night before the children go to bed. We study different books of the Bible, ( now we are studying the Gospel of John). Before beginning the study, I say, “Lord, please help me to explain your Word so that my children will understand. Lord, please let them be listening to You through me. In Jesus name I pray, Amen”. 
When I read a verse that really hits me and I believe God wants me to explain this verse in great detail to the children, I will stop and we will spend the rest of our study time on that particular verse. The two oldest look at me as I’m explaining, but the two youngest, well sometimes I wonder if they are in the same room with me! I pray this prayer after, “Father, I thank you for your Word which is power, truth and life for those who read it. I thank you that my children have heard, listened and understand Your instructions. I pray they will remember what You have taught them Father so as they grow older, they will always remember and not depart from it. In Jesus name we pray, Amen”.
Well, I always have my little talk with Jesus everyday. Part of my talk is asking Him to show me in His way that my children are hearing, listening and understanding what is being taught to them about God, Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit. You know, when you have your talk with Jesus, your answers do not come right away, but they do come. Sometimes in unexpected ways.
My youngest son came up to me the other day. He is really intrigued about his shadow. Everytime he sees his shadow he says, “Mom, look there is my shadow. Isn’t it cool”? I smile and laugh and say, “well yes it is”. I think it is the cutest thing. Well, this time he saw his shadow and said, “Mom, you know my shadow is always with me, even when I can’t see it”. I just looked at him and then he said this, “You know, my shadow is like God. I can not see Him, but He is always with me wherever I go”. I tell you, tears swelled up in my eyes and began streaming down my face! I said, “yes honey, you are so right.” He ran away just as happy as could be while I was still standing there crying. I said, “thank-you Lord, my baby is really listening and hearing.”
You know, just when we think our children are not listening or hearing, they really are. We as parents may question whether or not they are listening and hearing and this is natural. But, when you “have your little talk with Jesus” and ask Him to allow you to see your children through His eyes, you see them in a whole new way. Children do listen to you. We as parents must be saying, doing and living the way God instructs us to live. When our children see us living right, they will live right as they grow older.
Remember, we set the examples for our children. We are their physical role models. God is our spiritual model that we as parents must follow. Are you being a positive role model to your children? When they grow up, will they try their best to do right? To live right? To trust in God? To have faith in God? In 2nd Timothy 3:14,15 it says, But you must remain faithful to the things you have been taught. You know they are true, for you know you can trust those who taught you. You have been taught the holy Scriptures from childhood, and they have given you the wisdom to receive the salvation that comes by trusting in Christ Jesus”
Ask yourself this question: “if my child being taught the right way”? If not, it is my prayer that you begin teaching your child the right way to live which is God’s way. The greatest “parenting guide” I know is The Holy Bible. You can not go wrong with God’s Word.

(scripture from New Living Translation)

About valerielynn

Wife, mother and child of God who has learned to live one day at a time by the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ. My road to home (heaven) is full of many bumps, twist and turns. But with Jesus at the wheel, He makes it a lot smoother.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Are You Listening?

  1. chosenwoman says:

    I know as a parent when my daughter was younger I always wonder if she really listened to what I said, but as I saw her grow up I saw where she was listening to something not all. I know when I would go to my mother and tell her she would say not Desiray do you always listen to God when He speaks? I tell you my mother surely did know how to get up close and personal to the point she bring it right to your door step. And how right she was for none of us really listen all the time when God speaks to us. Most of us listen after it's all we have done or it becomes to late then we are ready to listen. As I say I am still learning as I go.

  2. Lori Laws says:

    What a great post… right from your heart! When your son said his shadow was like God, my heart just melted. You must know – your family is highly favored! Praise God! It is so great that you study the Bible every night. What a role model you are 🙂 God bless!

  3. Yvette says:

    Now that my son is half way around the world, I often think if all that we instilled in him will bear fruit. I see the fruit when we speak or chat, and how he will call asking for prayer. It is important to sow the word of God into our children, and the most difficult part of all, handing our children over to the Lord for Him to complete the work.Blessings!

  4. Just Be Real says:

    Blessings to you dear Val.

  5. Pamela says:

    Such a beautiful story of your son realizing his Heavenly Father is with him at all times. Blessed my heart. I love that we can train our children in the things of God from birth and they never know another way.My God bless your beautiful family.Pamela — new follower

  6. What a great post Valerie.. i often wondered that too when our children were small but now when they are older I am being shown that they did listen and i beleive that because my husband and i did train them up in the way that they should go that as they continue to get older we will see more of Jesus shining thru them.. What a great prayer you prayed to God about seeing and knowing that they are hearing.. I think i will say that prayer also.. thank you for sharing and blessings to you and your whole family..Tammy 🙂

  7. My now 26 year-old daughter told me one day (when she was 16)–you know mom … how when you're talking to me sometimes, I act like I'm not listening to you? Oh. boy, did I ever! Please don't stop, I really am listening…

  8. Just Be Real says:

    Appreciate you Valerie. Blessings.

  9. yess i have stood on that scripture and have often wondered when it would take hold in our children's lives.. we are beginning to see it become real now.. So thankful for God's promises and that we can trust what he has spoken and know that when we speak HIs word to our Children they are indeed listening even tho they may not seem to be. God's Word is life and it has a way of getting into our hearts despite all.. Great post Valerie…Tammy 🙂

Leave a Reply

