Here Today, Gone Tomorrow

There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens: a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot.

Ecclesiastes 3:1,2 NLT

I know it has been a while since I have posted. My family has gone through a lot in the last few weeks. The biggest shock of all was the death of my Aunt Jeannie. Two weeks before her death, she had fallen and broken her leg. She was in the hospital for about a week. She had to go to a nursing home for rehabilitation to get her leg strengthened after the hospital stay. One thing about Aunt Jean is that she always loved her home and when she was away she was never happy. Needless to say, being away from her home made her really sad. We tried our best to cheer her up. She loved fried chicken and could eat it every day. She also loved chocolate covered pecans. Everyone that went to visit her would take her one of those two things. A smile would automatically appear on her face and her eyes would light up. She had the most beautiful smile. I loved seeing her smile.

She was released from the nursing home about three days before her birthday. She was so happy to be home. I remember the day because she called and said, “Valerie, Aunt Jeannie is home now”. I loved talking to her on the phone. Her birthday was coming and we all would be there to celebrate help her celebrate it. She would be 73 and she was so proud of that. Aunt Jeannie loved the Lord. She always talked about her love of the Lord. Yes, Aunt Jeannie was a great woman of faith.

We all spent the whole day with her on her birthday. I kept having this strange feeling inside but I just could not put my finger on it. We had cake and ice cream, sang “Happy Birthday” and she opened all her presents. She looked so happy! It was such a beautiful day. She was truly thankful to see another birthday, but most of all, she was happy all her family was there to celebrate it.

She went to her daughter’s for a couple of weeks just to make certain her leg was healed and she could get around ok. I always missed Aunt Jeannie when she left, but I talked to her on the phone all the time. I got a phone call and was told, Aunt Jeannie had passed away. I said, “what did you say”? They repeated the words once more, “Aunt Jeannie had passed away”. I was crushed. I could not believe it. We had just celebrated her birthday. She was laughing and smiling and having such a good time. How could she be gone?

I just sat and cried. I thought about the last day that I saw her. I thought about how happy she was. It was then I remembered that “feeling” I had the day of her birthday. I believe God was telling me this was the last day I would see my Aunt Jeannie alive again.

I began to smile as I thought about how much Aunt Jeannie loved the Lord and how she always talked about seeing Grandma, daddy, mom and all her family that had gone on before her to Heaven. I knew there was a grand and joyous reunion awaiting her. All her loved ones gathered around welcoming her home. What a beautiful reunion!

Her funeral was sad for a lot of her friends and family, but for me it wasn’t. I did not cry. I did not shed a tear. Why? Because I knew she had gone home to be with her Lord. She was happy. She was whole. She was home. She would have no more pain. No more sorrow. No more tears. She was was at peace. She was home.

If you have a loved one or someone you have not spoken to in a while because of whatever reason, call them or write them and let them know how much you love them. You never know they could be here today and gone tomorrow. Only God knows what the future holds. Don’t miss your chance to tell someone you love them. Tell them today while it is still TODAY.

About valerielynn

Wife, mother and child of God who has learned to live one day at a time by the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ. My road to home (heaven) is full of many bumps, twist and turns. But with Jesus at the wheel, He makes it a lot smoother.
This entry was posted in family, God. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Here Today, Gone Tomorrow

  1. Child of God says:

    Hi Valerie,I am sorry for your loss, it sure does hurt to lose someone we love. It can be a bitter sweet trial to go through, knowing they are with Jesus while we are still here missing their smile. I am happy that are able to be happy for your aunt. I am sure that brings a smile to her face. Blessings,<><

  2. valerie says:

    Child of God, thank you so much for your uplifting comment. Yes, losing a loved one can be "bitter sweet" and I am so thankful God has given me the grace to endure it all. God bless you my friend.

  3. Thank you so much for joining Worship Him Always! Have a blessed week! Tamara @ God's Perfect Promises

Leave a Reply

