Broken But Healed

When I gave my life to Christ, I came to him just like the girl in the picture above. I was broken. I was shattered. I was an emotional and mental mess. All my hope was lost. I did not see any reason to continue living in this world. 
 I was almost at the end of my first year of college. My life was going just as I planned. I had made the dean’s list, I was still a virgin (I was really proud of this fact) and I was about to complete my first year of college. My life was going according as planned!
I was not one for “partying” so I never would go. But, I thought, “hey, you have worked really hard, you deserve to have some fun”.  I decided to go to a party with some of my friends. I was having a nice time until I became really light-headed and dizzy. I only had one drink, but I felt as if I was going to pass out. I don’t remember going back to my dorm. I did not remember getting to my room. I did no remember getting into bed.

I knew something was not right.Something was terribly wrong.  I was hurting  badly. I saw blood. I began to cry I knew what had happened to me. I had been raped and could not remember a thing. I cleaned myself up, did not say a word to anyone and went on as if nothing happened. I tried to forget, but I could not do it.
My grades dropped. I became withdrawn. As hard as I tried, I could not forget what happened to me. I managed to finish the first year, but I never went back. I had changed. I began partying hard. Everyday I would party and drink until I passed out. I abused my body in ways I would never had done before the rape. I was spiraling out of control. I did not care if I lived or died.
Then one day a woman came up to me at work. She looked at me and smiled and said, “you’re in pain and I know what you are going through”. I thought she was crazy until she started spilling out her life to me. She had been raped as well. She began abusing her body as I was abusing mine. Her story was the mirror image of mine. She gave me a card with this scripture on it, He has sent me to tell those who mourn that the time of the Lord’s favor has come, and with it, the day of God’s anger against their enemies. To all who mourn in Israel, he will give a crown of beauty for ashes, a joyous blessing instead of mourning, festive praise instead of despair. In their righteousness, they will be like great oaks that the Lord has planted for his own glory”. (Isaiah 61:2,3) On the other side it simply read, “God can heal your brokenness. Let Him make you whole again”.
I believed God sent this women into my life at that exact moment. In His perfect timing he sent the women to save my life. I never knew her name. I never saw her again.

I kept reading that scripture over and over. I got down on my knees and asked God to heal my brokenness. To give me beauty for my ashes. To turn my mourning into joy. If it had not been for His grace and His mercy, I would not be writing this today. Only God can take what is broken and make it whole again. Whatever is broken within you, ask God to heal you. To make you whole again. It will not happen overnight, but it will happen. Simply trust in Him my friends. Simply trust in the Lord.

O Lord, if you heal me, I will be truly healed; if you save me, I will be truly saved. My praises are for you alone! (Jeremiah 17:14)


I pray you listen to the video. I pray it will heal someone of their brokenness.
(all scripture from the New Living Translation)
About valerielynn

Wife, mother and child of God who has learned to live one day at a time by the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ. My road to home (heaven) is full of many bumps, twist and turns. But with Jesus at the wheel, He makes it a lot smoother.
This entry was posted in God, life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Broken But Healed

  1. Lori Laws says:

    Indeed, God did bring that woman to you to start you on the journey that would change your life! "It's only by God's grace." Amen! Keep shining your light, Valerie. There are people watching and digesting every word you speak about that light!

  2. valerie says:

    Lori thank you so much for your love and support! You are a beautiful angel in my life!

  3. Bless your heart Valerie! God is a right on time God! He sent someone to you just in time! My heart goes out to you, for what you have been through…but thank God for healings and for His love and mercy! Keep on sending out the word sister!Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

