Hope

As I listen to the “big news story” of the day about the “possible shutdown of our government”, I wonder how many people are stressing and worrying about this “possible” shutdown? We often times put our trust in our friends, family, husbands, wives, children and yes even our government officials at every level. Yet, when we place our trust and place our hope in them, we often times get what?
DISAPPOINTED! ANGRY! REJECTED! DEPRESSED!

Why do we do this? Is it because we think they truly care about us and would never hurt us? Is it because we can physically see them, touch them and speak face to face with them? Is this the reason why?

Why don’t we put our hope and trust in the ONE who created us? The ONE who knows what we are facing. The ONE who knows what we are going through? Is it because we can not see, touch and speak to HIM face to face? Is this the reason why?

The Word of God tells us in Psalm 146:3: “Don’t put your confidence in powerful people; there is no help for you there“. Powerful people, hmmm, could this scripture possibly be referring to our government officials on every level? Lawyers, doctors, psychologists, judges, etc? How about, places where you go to for help and are turned down? How about the ones we go to for spiritual guidance? Could this scripture possibly be talking about them too? Hmmmm…………………………………

The one thing we must remember about all the above is this one thing: THEY ARE HUMAN!!!!!!!!!!!! THEY ARE NOT PERFECT JUST AS WE ARE NOT PERFECT!!!!! Please remember this!

BUT GOD is PERFECT!!! GOD cannot LIE!!!!! It is not his nature to do so.

Some of God’s Promises:

1.to supply every need we have (Phillipians 4:19)
2. His grace is sufficient for us (II Corinthians 12:9)
3. that all things work together for good to those who love and serve Him faithfully (Romans 8:28)

Romans 15:13 says, “I pray that God, the source of hope, will fill you completely with joy and peace because you trust in him. Then you will overflow with confident hope through the power of the Holy Spirit”. Psalm 146:5 tells us, But joyful are those who have the God of Israel as their helper, whose hope is in the Lord their God”.

Notice in Romans 15:13 it says that God is the “source of hope”. Not man, not our friends, not the government but God is the one and only source of our hope! And when we place our hope in Him, he will: fill us completely with joy and peace! We will be joyful! How awesome is that!

My friends, place your hope in the Lord! He is the only one who cares for you. He loves you so much that He sent his ONE and ONLY SON to die on the Cross for you! That is love! 

As I end my friends, I leave you with a verse of a song which I absolutely love. The song is: THE SOLID ROCK.

MY HOPE IS BUILT ON NOTHING LESS, THAN JESUS BLOOD AND RIGHTEOUSNESS. I DARE NOT TRUST THE SWEETEST FRAME, BUT WHOLLY LEAN ON JESUS NAME. ON CHRIST THE SOLID ROCK I STAND, ALL OTHER GROUND IS SINKING SAND. ALL OTHER GROUND IS SINKING SAND.

(all scripture from the New Living Translation)

About valerielynn

Wife, mother and child of God who has learned to live one day at a time by the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ. My road to home (heaven) is full of many bumps, twist and turns. But with Jesus at the wheel, He makes it a lot smoother.
This entry was posted in encouragement, God. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hope

  1. chevonee says:

    This is so true!! In times like this, the Word of God is all we have to keep us from falling. I'm so thankful for this post and I pray that God continues to bless and elevate you in all your ways. Feel free to friend me on Facebook my name is Chevonne LovestheLord Reynolds.

  2. valerie says:

    Hello Chevonee, and I thank you for reading my blog. I love making new friends and sisters in Christ. Thank you for your prayer and keep praying for me and I will pray for you. Love you!

  3. Just Be Real says:

    Valerie great truths. Thank you for the timely reminders. Blessings.

  4. Lori Laws says:

    Thank you for this encouraging post. I told you before, but I'll say it again… You have the gift of an encourager! "On Christ the solid Rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand" Love that song too! God bless!

  5. valerie says:

    Just be Real, thank you for reading. It is my sincere hope that I can help at least one person through my writings. God bless and thank you again.

  6. valerie says:

    Lori, you are a blessing in my life! I am so thankful for you!

  7. Yvette says:

    Wonderfully said!

Leave a Reply

