God’s Do Over

“Come now, let’s settle this,”says the Lord,  “Though your sins are like scarlet, I will make them as white as snow. Though they are red like crimson,  I will make them as white as wool”. (Isaiah 1: 18,19 NLT)

 The next day John saw Jesus coming toward him and said, “Look, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world! (John 1:29 NLT)

My pastor’s sermon title yesterday was, “God’s Do Over“. When he said his title I thought, “Hmmm, this sounds interesting. He began by asking us this question: “Thinking back on your past, is there any thing you wish you could do over“? Boy, I did not have to think twice about that question because my answer was YES! YES! YES!

I had done so many wrong and bad things in my life. I had hurt so many people. I had degraded and belittled myself as well as others. But above all, the bad things I did, I broke the heart of the ONE I love with all my heart. GOD. My past is so full of awful and dispicable things that if I could go back and “do it over again” I certainly would. The cold hard truth is I can not “do over” my awful past. As my husband says when he preaches, “it is what it is and you can not change it”.

There was a point in my life when I thought I would simply have to live with all the bad and awful things I had done. I had to accept it and try to live my life the best way I could. But, it did not work. I would have guilty feelings so bad that I simply did not know if I could make it. My conscience was tearing me up in such a way that I became depressed, miserable and mean. Why, because I did not forgive myself for all the wrong I had done nor did I apologize to anyone I had hurt. All of this “mess” was bottled up inside of me.

One day, my mom was singing a song I remembered singing in church when I was a little girl. She was singing, “What can wash away my sins, nothing but the blood of Jesus. What can make me whole again, nothing but the blood of Jesus. O precious is the flow, that makes me white as snow. No other fount I know, nothing but the blood of Jesus”.

It was that moment that I knew I had to tell my sins to God, ask Him for His forgiveness and ask Him to help me become whole once again. I knew I had to surrender my life to Christ and let Him cleanse me of my awful past. It was only by His blood which He shed on the Cross for My sins that cleansed and set me free.

Do not think that your sin is so great that God will not remove it because He will. He loves you.  He is waiting for you to take that first step and ask him to forgive you, confess your sin and to accept the one who came to take away the sins of the world, Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior. Be freed from the guilt and pains of your life. Surrender your life to Christ and allow him to make you whole again.

I have been set free and I know you can be set free as well.

Nothing but the blood of Jesus can wash away your sins. Only Jesus can give you a life that is new. Try him today. Simply say, “Father God, please forgive me of my sins. I know I have sinned against you and only you. I ask the Lord Jesus to come into my heart right now and to make me whole again, in Jesus name I pray, Amen. 
If you prayed this simple prayer I would love to hear from you. Welcome to the family!

About valerielynn

Wife, mother and child of God who has learned to live one day at a time by the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ. My road to home (heaven) is full of many bumps, twist and turns. But with Jesus at the wheel, He makes it a lot smoother.
This entry was posted in God, Jesus Christ, life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God’s Do Over

  1. penlighted says:

    Amen!I missed you and I am glad that you are back blogging!

  2. penlighted says:

    I just read this.. "If you were a follower of my other blog, "Simply 4 God" welcome back and if not thank you for visiting for the first time. Simply 4 God got hacked and I had to delete it which broke my heart, but I was not going to let it stop me. Now I have Simply 4 God's Glory and I will continue to blog for the glory of God no matter what obstacles come my way. God bless and I love you all."I didn't noticed that I visited a different url add. I found your link in Lori's blog.http://lightedpen.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

