The Wise Little Old Lady

As I was sitting in the waiting room at the doctor’s office, the cutest little old lady came and sat right across from me.  The reason I was at the doctor’s office is because Jailee had been complaining about have pains in her chest. Was I worried, yes, I am a mother but, I was not worried to the point that I would drive myself crazy over it.

Thoughts began creeping into my head, you know the thoughts that the devil plants in your mind to get your focus off of God and onto the problem. You’ve had those right? Anyway, I looked up and the little old lady was smiling at me. She said, “hi and how are you”? I said, “fine and how are you today”? She smiled and said, “I am enjoying my life”. This totally caught me off guard. Her smile was so beautiful and peaceful that I had to smile back. I said, “yes life is to short not to enjoy it”.

She began telling me how she had not been to the doctor since 1980. She said she did not have a reason to go because she had been healthy and did not see a reason to go. She said, “I am 73 years old and I have always been healthy. I have walked five miles since I can remember. Then she said the strangest thing, “I eat peanut butter by the tablespoon three to four times a day”. She said she has been eating peanut butter “straight out of the jar” like this since she was a little girl. Then, she told me the reason why she was at the hospital.

She found a mass underneath her arm. She knew it should not be there so she went to the doctor. They ran test and she has stage four cancer in her brain. She smiled and said, “when I told my husband and my daughter they cried and started speaking negative. I told them, wait a minute. If you can’t speak positive then I don’t want to hear what you have to say. All I want to hear is positive and encouraging words, not negative”. Then she said, “I also do not want someone to pray for me if they do not truly believe in the Lord. You can’t just have anybody praying for you. The Lord has been to good to me and I have lived a long good life. If it is my time to go, then it is my time to go. I am a peace, but until He decides it is time for me, I am going to live my life and live it to the fullest despite the cancer and the radiation treatments. They say I will lose my hair, but I told them, well maybe it will grow back long, thick and blond again”. She laughed and I laughed.

We both talked about how good God is. How when we are going through troubles which to us seem as if we will not be able to overcome, it is in the hard times when His love for us shines bright. It is in these times when God shows us our true selves. Is our faith in him as strong as we say it is? Will we trust Him to see us through? Will we keep our eyes on him and not the problem right in front of us?

The little old lady looked at me and said, “I believe God had us in the space and time for a reason. I believe God sent me here to tell you to keep your hope, faith and trust in Him. Everything will be all right”. I gave her a hug and said, “God bless you my friend”. She said, “God bless you too. Pray for me and I will pray for you”. The nurse came to get her, but before she left, she turned around and said,  “your daughter will be all right. Keep your faith and trust in God and everything will be all right”.

I had not told her why I was there or who I was with……..

About valerielynn

Wife, mother and child of God who has learned to live one day at a time by the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ. My road to home (heaven) is full of many bumps, twist and turns. But with Jesus at the wheel, He makes it a lot smoother.
This entry was posted in encouragement, God, life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Wise Little Old Lady

  1. Lori Laws says:

    Awesome 🙂 We entertain angels unaware! God has been so good to send people to us to keep our faith and hope aflame. PTL! God bless!

Leave a Reply

