Re-Kindling the Flame pt 2

God certainly speaks to us in so many different ways. As I was tossing around in my head the words I heard on John Hagee Ministry about “going back to the place where I first found Christ” I thought about the place where I found Christ. The picture above is not the actual church,  but it is very close to the church  I accepted Christ as Lord of my life.
As I was sitting,  I heard a voice say, “Go back. Go back Valerie”. I tried and tried to ignore it, but it became so strong that I simply could not resist it any longer. Has this ever happened to you? If so, you know what I am talking about. I got into the van and drove to the little church. The church is now closed, which absolutely broke my heart (but that’s another post).
As I was driving, a song began to play. I usually turn the radio off before I get out of the van, why, I don’t know, but this time I had forgotten. The words, “Take me back, take me back dear Lord, To the place where I first received you. Take me back, take me back dear Lord where I First believe.” I had to stop the van and pull over because I just could not believe what I had heard! I restarted the song again and yes, those were the exact words I heard! God, you are certainly trying to tell me something.  Tears swelled up in my eyes. I knew I had to get back to the church.

As I pulled into the parking lot, I could feel a strong presence. It was peaceful. It was calming. I looked up at the gray and dreary sky. I parked right in front of the church and just sat there listening to the song. The next words in the song pierced my very soul: “I feel that I’m so far from you Lord But still I hear you calling me. Those simple things that I once knew, The memories are drawing me. I must confess, Lord I’ve been blessed But yet my soul’s not satisfied. Renew my faith, restore my joy then dry my weeping eyes“.

I started crying. I said, ““Lord, please forgive me for turning away from you. I have done wrong against you and only you and I have paid dearly for it. Forgive me Lord for leaving you. I know you never left me. Thank you for bringing me back to the place I first received you”.

 I sat there crying and waiting .

What was I waiting for?

I do not know………………..But I certainly was about to find out…………………………………

(Take Me Back lyrics written by Andre Crouch)

About valerielynn

Wife, mother and child of God who has learned to live one day at a time by the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ. My road to home (heaven) is full of many bumps, twist and turns. But with Jesus at the wheel, He makes it a lot smoother.
This entry was posted in God, Jesus Christ. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Re-Kindling the Flame pt 2

  1. God's timing is amazing, isn't it.P.S. The post I told you I had just wriiten is on the G-GG blog. The wonderful post you read on my Foot of the Cross blog was acually penned by Ron Hutchcraft. Glad it blessed you, but I can't take the credit. 🙂

  2. Yvette says:

    God in His grace and love is calling His Bride.Blessings!

  3. sarah says:

    I've missed you…..funny that you left a comment on my blog….I had been thinking about you…wondering how you were doing. You're never far from my heart….☺

Leave a Reply

