Beginnings pt 2

 1 But now, O Jacob, listen to the Lord who created you.
      O Israel, the one who formed you says,
   “Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you.
      I have called you by name; you are mine.
 2 When you go through deep waters,
      I will be with you.
   When you go through rivers of difficulty,
      you will not drown.
   When you walk through the fire of oppression,
      you will not be burned up;
      the flames will not consume you.
 3 For I am the Lord, your God,
      the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.
   I gave Egypt as a ransom for your freedom;
      I gave Ethiopia[a] and Seba in your place.
 Isaiah 43:1-3 (NLT)

When I was two years old, my mom was visiting my aunt’s house. They were sitting in the kitchen drinking coffee and talking. We went to my aunt’s house daily after mom got finished with all the household chores. Mom always told me I was a “strong-willed child who would not let anything stop me from reaching a goal.” She said I was always “adventurous” and “had no fear.” I thought most kids were like this but she said, “oh no, you have a different type of no fear that I have ever seen.”

My aunt’s house had this long, steep and narrow staircase. My aunt was re-carpeting the staircase and usually had it blocked off because she knew my mom was coming to visit with me right behind her. She knew I would make a mad dash for the stairway (I had been caught trying to go up the stairway before). But this day she had forgotten to block the stairway and I seen my opportunity to finally climb this mountain.

I made it up the stairs without a problem. There were nails sticking up from where they pulled up the carpet. However, on the way down, my sweater got caught on one of the nails. I yanked myself free but I pulled to hard and started falling. The right side of my head got caught on one of the nails and ripped my head wide open. I was screaming and yelling and mom came and she said she just saw her baby with her head ripped open and blood pouring out.

My second oldest brother just happened to be walking past the house when he heard me screaming and crying. He rushed in the house and saw me lying on the floor in a pool of blood. He scooped me up in his arms and ran to the emergency room. The hospital was only a block away yet he said it seemed like a mile.

Now remember this is in the sixties and there was a separate entrance and waiting room for “colored people.”
Well, the “colored” section was packed. He went to the “white” only section hoping they would be kind-hearted enough to help a little two year old girl. The nurse gave him a Kleenex and said to go to the “colored” area. My brother went ballistic! He started ranting and raving like a mad man! It just so happened, (I know  it was the Divine Intervention of God)  a doctor came by and asked what was wrong. Before my brother had a chance to say anything, the doctor took one look at me, ripped me out of my brothers arms  and rushed me into a room. I was already going limp from the loss of blood. The doctor stitched me up and then came out to talk to my mom and my brother.

When he came to the waiting room, the police were there. They were going to arrest my mom and brother for being in the “white” only waiting room! The doctor (once again at just the right time) came into the waiting room and stopped the police officers. He said, “you will not arrest these people. The little girl would have died if they would have went to the “colored” waiting room.” The police officers just looked at the doctor and backed away. My mom was panicked, my brother looked like a charging bull. The doctor said if we had waited five minutes longer I WOULD HAVE BLED TO DEATH. The cut was deep and I had lost a lot of blood. I had to get blood transfusions along with 28 stitches. Luckily, (the doctor said luck, I say blessed) the nail missed my right eye by less than an inch or I would have lost that eye.

Now you tell me God did not have His mighty hand on my life from the moment I was born and even before I was born. This was nothing else but Satan trying to take my life, yet God intervened and said, “No you can not take her!” I know without a doubt that God had a plan for me from the beginning. I just did not realize it until many years later. God was saying loud and clear, “this child is mine. Nothing will take her from me.”

I still have the scar that runs down the side of my face as a reminder. People always ask me why I do not get plastic surgery to remove the scar. I tell them that my grandmother who was a faithful woman of God told me these words, “Valerie, don’t you ever remove that scar. Don’t you ever get ashamed of it. It is a reminder of how God saved your life that day. It is a reminder that God was with you and has great things in store for you.  Don’t you ever remove it.”

Yes, the scar, my badge of honor is still there and will be until I die. I see the doctor now and then and he still talks about what happened to me and is still amazed at how I did not die or lose my eye. He finally said to me, “Only God, Only God.”

Yes, BUT GOD………………..

About valerielynn

Wife, mother and child of God who has learned to live one day at a time by the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ. My road to home (heaven) is full of many bumps, twist and turns. But with Jesus at the wheel, He makes it a lot smoother.
This entry was posted in God. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beginnings pt 2

  1. Lori Laws says:

    That was awesome! Only God, only God! Yes, before birth you were picked out to accomplish work you can only do! Wow, thanks for sharing that. You must be in awe and in praise every time you see your scar. Blessings!

  2. Yvette says:

    What a wonderful testimony of Gods intervention on your life. I have been blessed by your writings, and I am sure many other have also.Blessings!

  3. Thank you for sharing this story of God's working in your life, Valerie! I'm so thankful for the good outcome of that terrible experience.

  4. LoCTY says:

    Hi My Dear Sister in Christ I eventually found you!! Really sorry to hear of your blog being hacked. But so glad that He has given you the courage to start another blog for His glory. I'm kinda back to blogging after two years being out of it.LoCTY!!

Leave a Reply

