Beginnings

 “I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb. Before you were born I set you apart and appointed you prophet to the nations.”  Jeremiah 1:5 NLT

I have read this verse over and over again so many times. I would ask myself, “did God really know me like he knew Jeremiah the Prophet? Did he know what roads I would travel on? Did he know that I would forget about Him and pursue the things of this world? Did He know that I would return to Him eventually? Did he know I would be blogging on the internet for His glory?” 


I know without a doubt that God knew all about me before I was formed in my mother’s womb.

Jesus looked at them intently and said, “Humanly speaking, it is impossible. But with God everything is possible.” Matthew 19:26 NLT

I was born in a small town in Indiana. It is a beautiful historic town nestled right along the Ohio River. My parents were very young when they married. My mom had just turned 18 and my dad was 20. He came here from Washington DC. My mom would tell stories about this handsome “city boy” who came like a whirlwind into  a small town and got all he girls riled up (lol). She said, “I never gave your dad a second look. He was just another boy to me.” But my dad said, “when I saw your momma, I knew she was the one. But she sure was hard to catch.” I guess the girls would have fights over my dad to see which one he would marry. Needless to say, my mom said, “I am not going to fight over a man. It is not worth it.” But, in the end, my dad won my mother’s heart and they were married (and she didn’t have to fight for him LOL). 


After two years of marriage my mom began to wonder why she was not pregnant. She went to the doctor and the results were not good. The doctor said she would not have any children. She said when she heard the words she just cried and cried because she wanted children so badly. She went and spoke to my grandmother (my dad’s mom) and told her the news. She said my grandma took her hands into hers and spoke these words, “Harriet, with God nothing is impossible. Just place this in the Lord’s hands and watch Him turn things around for you.”  My mom loved the Lord. She grew up in the church and she knew in her heart that grandma was right. She said a prayer that night and she let it go into the hands of the Almighty God.


Exactly nine months later she was pregnant with my oldest brother. A year and two months later my second oldest brother was born. A year and three months after him my third oldest brother was born. Two years and four months later my sister was born. When my mother thought her child bearing years were over, twelve years after my sister was born, I was born on my oldest brothers birthday. Wow, can you believe it?


What an awesome God we serve! My mother placed her trust and faith in Him and He blessed her with five beautiful and healthy children. If you do not see any human way out of a situation, just re-read the above story again and you will know that:

God is true to his promise, “nothing is impossible for him.”



And so my life begins……….

About valerielynn

Wife, mother and child of God who has learned to live one day at a time by the grace and mercy of Jesus Christ. My road to home (heaven) is full of many bumps, twist and turns. But with Jesus at the wheel, He makes it a lot smoother.
This entry was posted in God. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beginnings

  1. Yvette says:

    This is so encouraging, all we need is faith in Him that He will take care of all our needs.Blessings!

  2. valerie says:

    Yes Yvette, when u have faith in God which comes from the heart, you can overcome anything this world and man throws at you. Thank you so much for your comment my friend. Blessings

  3. Lori Laws says:

    Wow, that just goes to show that we can be ready for ANYTHING if we have a right relationship, and fear of the Lord. God absolutely knew you before your mom got pregnant! His plans for you are excellent! Thanks for sharing that. Thanks for the encouragement:)

Leave a Reply

